Call for Papers

We are pleased to invite paper submissions for the 5th Baltic Economic Conference that will take place on June 19-20, 2023 at the Stockholm School of Economics in Riga, Latvia. The Baltic Economic Conference is organized by the Baltic Economic Association, in cooperation with Latvijas Banka and the Stockholm School of Economics in Riga and with the support of the Baltic International Centre for Economic Policy Studies, the FROGEE network and the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA).

We welcome full-length paper submissions from all fields of economics and finance. Each paper will be assigned a discussant. Authors of accepted papers implicitly agree to be a discussant in the conference. Two special sessions will be organized: a session entitled “Monetary Policy Transmission”, and a session entitled “Gender Inequality at Times of Crises”. Relevant accepted submissions will be automatically allocated to these sessions.

Important dates

  • December 10: submission platform open

  • February 28: deadline for submissions

  • March 31: decisions on submissions

  • April 30: registration deadline

  • June 19 - 20: conference

Click here to submit a paper

Keynote Speaker: Baeta Javorcik (EBRD and University of Oxford)

Beata Javorcik is Chief Economist of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) in London. She is on leave from the University of Oxford, where she holds a Statutory Professorship in Economics. She is a member of the Royal Economic Society’s Executive Committee and a Director of the International Trade Programme at the Centre for Economic Policy Research in London. Before taking up her position at Oxford University, she worked at the World Bank in Washington DC. She holds a Ph.D. in Economics from Yale and a B.A. in Economics (Summa cum Laude) from the University of Rochester. Her work has been published in journals such as the American Economic Review, the Economic Journal, the Review of Economics and Statistics, the Journal of the European Economic Association (among many others).


The conference fee is 75 EUR. There is no conference fee for master/PhD students of higher education institutions from the Baltic States nor for employees of institutional members of the Association. Participants are responsible for their travel and accommodation expenses.

Conference venue: Stockholm School of Economics in Riga, Strēlnieku iela 4A, Riga, Latvia

The conference is currently planned to take place in the in-person mode. In case the pandemic restrictions will not allow any physical meetings in Riga in June, the conference will switch to a fully online mode.

Award for the best paper presented by a PhD student

The BEA prize, amounting to EUR 500, is awarded to the best paper presented by a PhD student. The candidates for the award are not limited to the Baltic region (neither in terms of institution nor nationality). The following rules apply:

  • The paper is presented at the conference;

  • All authors of the paper are doctoral students or researchers having defended their thesis in 2023.

Scientific committee

Konstantins Benkovskis (Stockholm School of Economics in Riga and Latvijas Banka), Valdonė Darškuvienė (ISM University of Management and Economics), Nicolas Gavoille (Stockholm School of Economics in Riga), Boris Ginzburg (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid), Patrick Grüning (Latvijas Banka), Mihails Hazans (Latvijas Universitāte), Justina Klimaviciute (Vilniaus Universitetas), Dmitry Kulikov (Eesti Pank), Povilas Lastauskas (Lietuvos Bankas), Jaan Masso (Tartu Ülikool), Jaanika Meriküll (Tartu Ülikool and Eesti Pank), Michal Myck (CeNEA), Anders Paalzow (Stockholm School of Economics in Riga), Tairi Rõõm (Eesti Pank), Swapnil Singh (Lietuvos Bankas and Kaunas University of Technology), Karsten Staehr (Tallinna Tehnikaülikool and Eesti Pank), Linas Tarasonis (Vilniaus Universitetas and Lietuvos Bankas), Ija Trapeznikova (Royal Holloway, University of London), Priit Vahter (Tartu Ülikool), Karlis Vilerts (Latvijas Banka), Alminas Žaldokas (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology), Anna Zasova (Baltic Internation Centre for Economic Policy Studies).

Local organizers

Konstantins Benkovskis (Stockholm School of Economics in Riga and Latvijas Banka), Nicolas Gavoille (Stockholm School of Economics in Riga), Karlis Vilerts (Latvijas Banka)